What So Not (Chris Emerson) returns from a yearlong hiatus by releasing ‘The Change’, a striking, thunderous collaboration with fellow Australians DMA’S. ‘The Change’ was recorded in Sydney last year and is released now via Sweat It Out.

Releasing ‘Not All The Beautiful Things’ in 2018, What So Not reaffirmed his place as one of the most ambitious, visionary producers in the game. Collaborating with artists such as Skrillex, Slumberjack, San Holo and legendary rockers Toto, the album also contained the hit ‘Be OK Again’ featuring Silverchair front man Daniel Johns. A year long tour with over 150 shows through 45 countries, and becoming the Triple J featured album also followed the release. Since debuting in 2011, What So Not has garnered over 1 billion combined streams of his songs, which include such massive anthems as High You Are‘Waiting’ with Skrillex and RL Grime, and his remix of RÜFÜS du Sol’s ‘Inner bloom. Already one of the most exciting live acts in electronic music, he further cemented that reputation when he brought out Silverchair’s Daniel Johns as a surprise guest during his set at Australia’s Laneway Festival, where the pair delighted fans with a new remix of the Silverchair classic ‘Freak.’ Most recently, he fulfilled a dream by remixing Run The Jewels ‘JU$T’ ft Pharrell Williams and Zack De La Rocha, at the start of 2021.

DMA’S (Tommy O’Dell, Matt Mason, Johnny Took) have gone from strength to strength since exploding onto the scene in 2014 with their debut single ‘Delete’. They have released three critically acclaimed albums – the first of which, Hills End (2016), and For Now (2018)  and played international festivals slots at Coachella, Lollapalooza, Glastonbury and Reading and Leeds festivals.
2019 saw the Sydney natives play sold out shows across the UK and Ireland, support Liam Gallagher’s UK arena tour and sell 8 thousand tickets to their July Manchester show in a matter of hours. Back home they scored a Platinum record for ‘Delete plus Gold discs forLay Down‘ and Step Up The Morphine. The band’s third studio album, THE GLOW, was released 10 July 2020 and debuted at #2 on the ARIA Charts, #4 in the UK and #1 in Scotland.

What So Not (Chris Emerson) says: “I met Johnny at their studio – a small room next to a noisy inner-city road, above a pub, with no sound insulation. We had (somehow) never met but clicked instantly, discussing life on the road, COVID & found commonality on our all-time favourite artists. The first thing we made is pretty much the track you hear. Johnny liked our little idea so much he decided to get the whole band involved a couple of days later we tracked Tommy & brought Mason in for some extra pieces. I feel like this record is one the two of us have always wanted to make but never had the right pieces of the puzzle, until now.”

Johnny Took from the DMA’S adds: “Emoh and I had never met before the day of our first session but quickly bonded over synths, production gear, The Chemical Brothers, The Prodigy and Underworld. Being from such different song writing worlds really made this a great collaboration for me. Once we got Tommy and Mason on the track after that first day of writing we knew we were onto something special and new for both of us.” 






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: